How to File For Divorce in Alaska (2021 Step by Step Guide)

Six steps to an Alaska divorce

  1. Initiate the divorce process
  2. Notify your spouse
  3. Decide whether to pursue an uncontested divorce or a contested divorce
  4. Decide whether to hire an attorney or not
  5. Resolve the three big issues
  6. Finalize all paperwork

Or you could use an online service to streamline the process

  1. 3StepDivorce ($299)
  2. Complete Case ($299)
  3. MyDivorcePapers.com ($139)

Requirements to file for an Alaska divorce

  • The spouse who files for a divorce in Alaska must be a resident at the time of filing. There is no limit of residency that is needed for a person filing for a divorce.
  • Military: A person serving in the military and their spouse will be able to file for divorce in Alaska as long as they have been stationed in Alaska for 30+ days.

Grounds for divorce in Alaska

Alaska allows for both no fault and fault based divorces to be filed by a spouse.

No fault divorce

A no fault divorce means that the relationship between you and your spouse has irreconcilable differences and both parties agree that the marriage is over. In order for a divorce to be considered, no one party can be at fault for the dissolution of the marriage.

Reasons for a no Fault Divorce

  • Incompatibly: You and your spouse have agreed that the marriage has reached a point of irreparable. As mentioned above, no party is at fault for a non fault divorce in Alaska. You and your spouse just growing apart over the years will be more than enough to be able to file for a non contested divorce and will make the divorce process much easier and faster.

Fault divorce

Fault divorces aren’t as common as most people think across the United States. Unlike No fault divorces, fault divorces occur when one spouse files a divorce based on the fault of another spouse. The typical at fault divorce reason is for adultery.

Reasons for at Fault Divorces

  • Adultery: A spouse has sexual intercourse with someone other than their spouse.
    • Failure to consummate: An inability or refusal to have sexual relations with a spouse.
    • Cruelty or violence: Repetitive abuse (physically or verbal) or inhumane treatment.
    • Willful desertion: A spouse up and leaves a marriage for at least for 1 year.
    • Drug or Alcohol addiction: Drug or substance abuse.
    • Conviction of Felony: A spouse received a felony while married.
    • Incompatibility of temperament: Both spouses are not able to harmoniously live together without conflict.
    • Mental illness: A spouse was admitted into an institution for at least 18 mos.

We’ve reviewed the best online divorce services

  1. How to File For Divorce Online
  2. Child Custody 101
  3. Child Support Laws 101
  4. Alimony/Spousal Support 101
  5. Marriage Annulments 101: Qualifying, Types & More
  6. Divorce FAQ
  7. Who Gets What in a Divorce?
  8. Divorce Mediators
  9. The Ultimate Guide To a Quick & Cheap Divorce
  10. Our Family Wizard review

Divorce Forms

Each state has a different set of divorce forms and paperwork that’s needed to properly complete your filling. There are hundreds of forums on the web that are either updated and will waste a lot of your time by getting your divorce papers rejected by your local city clerk.

Man filling out divorce forms